Log in

Log in
Each year ISCA recognizes excellence in professional school counseling through an awards ceremony during the annual conference. Here is a history of ISCA award winners. If you can fill in the gaps on any missing years, email

 YearElementary SCOY Middle/Jr SCOY Secondary SCOY Multi-Level SCOY Lifetime Achievement Advocate of the Year District of Distinction
 2023   Kelli Johnson, Marion CSD N/A N/AMelissa Murphy, Springville CSD N/A Susan Langan, Retired School Counselor, Cedar Falls CSD N/A
 2022 N/A Jaclyn Lussenhop, College Community School District
Lori Clore, Cedar Rapids Community School District
 N/A Sheryl Bass, Kirkwood Community College/Linn-Marr Community School District
 2021 Greta Lundsgaard-Vaughn
Anamosa CSD

Sheryl Bass
Linn-Mar CSD

N/AN/AJen Wollesen
DMACC Carroll Advantage Center
Camanche CSD
 2020 Anita Townsley,
South Tama County CSD
Angela Wittmer,
Cedar Falls CSD 
Jamie Cummins,
Cedar Rapids CSD 
 N/A N/AJennifer Ulie-Wells,
Please Pass the Love 
 2019Aimee Hospodarsky,
Monticello CSD  
N/A Amanda Steines, Clinton CSDTheresa Putnam-Genz, Louisa-Muscatine and Columbus CSDs N/A Dave Ford, Mississippi Bend AEA

Bonduarant-Farrar CSD

Indianola CSD

Monticello CSD

Norwalk CSD

 2018 Kinzee Bryte, ADM CSD
 N/AAmanda DeWulf, Maquoketa CSD
Shelby Bryce, Lone Tree CSD
 N/ASue Schirmer, Heartland AEA
 2017Mary Kleve, South Winneshiek Elementary/Middle School;
South Winneshiek CSD 
Benjamin Barry, Carlisle Middle School, Carlisle CSD  N/AN/A Linda Linn, Prairie Lakes AEARobert Denson,


 Year Elementary SCOY
Middle/Jr SCOY
Secondary SCOY
Multi-Level SCOY
Lifetime Achievement
 2016  N/A  Paula Baumann, Thomas Jefferson Middle School, Dubuque CSD;
Tina Chaplin,  Indianola CSD
 Suzanne Schrader, Clinton CSD
 N/A  Val Stickler, Washington Elementary School, Atlantc CSD
 N/A  N/A  
 2015 Kathy Gabrielson, Roland-Story Community Schools
 Becky Lins, Cedar Falls CSD
 Lydia Arevalo, Marshalltown CSD
 Chad Angel, Janesville Consolidated School District
 Courtney King-Crum, Harlan Elementary School, Harlan CSD
 N/A  Jill Helm, Northwest AEA
 2014 Sarah Majoros, Des Moines Public Schools; Candy Reed, Davenport CSD  N/A  Susan Langan, Cedar Falls High School, Cedar Falls CSD
 N/A  Val Stickler, Washington Elementary School, Atlantic CSD
Kim Bowen, Center Point-Urbana High School, Center Point-Urbana CSD
 Susen Schirmer, Heartland AEA, Johnston
 2013 Nancy Kreiner, New Hampton CSD              
 2012  Teresa Keefe O'Meara, North Tama CSD              
 2011  Clare Struck, UNI; Shelley Klaas, Bettendorf CSD              
 2010  Meredith Dohmen, Des Moines Public Schools              
 2009           Jennifer Byers, Washington High School, Cedar Rapids CSD    
 2008  Julianne Steven, Ankeny CSD    Nancy Lacey, Anamosa CSD    Jann Strutzenberg, Treynor CSD; Denise Hart-Pesek, West Delaware CSD  Sue Schrader, Amanda Sievers, Amanda Steines, Conrad Keibler, Clinton CSD Charlene Wallace Pam Dick 
 2007  Denise Hart Pesic - only counselor of the year; no level indicated       Sue Hogeland; Jennifer J. Turner-Peterson Allison DeBlause      
 2006    Sue Farran, College CSD     Beth Stephas, Eagle Grove CSD        

Contact  Us
Phone: (515) 282-8192
6919 Vista Drive
West Des Moines, IA 50266
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software