Log in

Log in

ISCA Committees

ISCA has several standing committees that work throughout the year to meet the goals set forth by the organization. Committees are made up of both elected and volunteer positions. If you would like to volunteer on an ISCA committee contact a board member today.

Current Committees Include:


ISCA maintains a vigorous program of government relations. The association believes that students benefit when counselors successfully advocate on state and federal legislative issues related to students and school counseling. The Government Relations Committee monitors government activity surrounding educational topics and works to highlight the important role counselors play in the development and success of Iowa's students. The committee works in conjunction with the Iowa Association of College Admissions Counselors (Iowa ACAC) to plan the Visit the Hill day each February. Visit the Hill is an opportunity for students and counselors to advocate with their legislators regarding educational topics.

Committee Members

Chair- Lauren Cerqueira
Aaron Weddle
Aimee Hospodarsky
Amanda DeWulf
Amanda Pearce
Becky Lins
Bernie Scolaro
Deb Turnball
Jaclyn Lussenhop
Linda Linn
Nyla Mowery
Melissa Murphy
Sheryl Cline
Susan Langan
Tara Christiansen


The Awards and Recognition Committee seeks opportunities to acknowledge the many achievements of ISCA members and their contributions to the profession of school counseling. The committee members work together to promote, collect and evaluate nominations for awards to be presented at the annual ISCA conference.

Committee Members
Chair- Shelly Brimeyer
Chris Wood
Cory Graven
Laurel Klaassen
Natalie Wilson
Susan Langan


The conference committee oversees the organization and planning of the annual ISCA Conference.

Committee Members
CHAIR - Jaclyn Lussenhop
Aimee Hospodarsky
Brittania Morey
Natalie Wilson
Sheryl Cline
Megan Barber
Anna Rogers
Morgan Binder
Carrie Niehaus
Terese Jurgensen


The Membership Committee works to inform all Iowa school counselors about the multiple benefits of the association, working to increase membership and strengthen the organizations' ability to serve school counselors and advocate for the essential profession of school counselors.

Committee Members
CHAIR - Samantha Harms


The Newsletter Committee works to create meaningful communications to keep ISCA members updated on professional development events, the ISCA Conference, the ISCA Newsletter and additional communication items throughout the year.

Committee Members
CHAIR - Sheila Kinyon-Johnson


The research committee handles all requests for research topics that are brought to ISCA.

Committee Members
CHAIR - Dr. Darcie Davis-Gage


The Communications/Marketing Committee oversees the overall communications strategy for ISCA, including the coordination of messaging, and the administration of the ISCA website and social media outlets.

Committee Members
CHAIR: Brittania Morey
Scotti Hagensick
Andrew Eisenman
Sheila Johnson
Trina Roos

Contact  Us
Phone: (515) 282-8192
6919 Vista Drive
West Des Moines, IA 50266
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software